compositions | unaccompanied solos | 24 caprices (1999)

24 caprices, op. 1 (selections) by niccoló paganini

Medium: Solo Marimba
Publisher: C. Alan Publications
Adapted: 1999 (orig. composed in 1801-1807)
Duration: 10:30
Difficulty: Grade 4-5

Look Inside No. 1 (E major) | No. 2 (B minor) | Look Inside No. 5 (A minor)

Marimba (4.5-octave)

Composed between 1801 and 1807, Niccolò Paganini’s 24 Caprices, Op. 1 for solo violin are some of the most technically demanding in the repertoire. Each caprice highlights particular virtuosic violin techniques, such as cross-string arpeggios, left-hand pizzicato, double-stop harmonics and ‘ricochet’ bowings. These two selections adapt extremely well to the marimba and, in turn, showcase many of the virtuosic four-mallet techniques found in contemporary marimba performance.

Performed by Adam Nurre