compositions | percussion ensemble | silent canyons (2014)

silent canyons (2014)

Medium: Percussion Quintet 
Publisher: C. Alan Publications
Composed: 2014
Duration: 6:50
Difficulty: Grade 4.5

Look Inside Score

Percussion 1 (Bells, 2 High Woodblocks, 2 Congas, Bongos, Rainstick)
Percussion 2 (Crotales, Log Drums, 4 Concert Toms)
Percussion 3 (Vibraphone, Temple Blocks, Sizzle Cymbal, China Cymbal)
Percussion 4 (4.3-octave Marimba, Djembe)
Percussion 5 (Concert Bass Drum, Large Tam-Tam) 

Silent Canyons was commissioned by the Fort Lewis College Percussion Ensemble, directed by Jonathan Latta. The piece was inspired of by the story of the Ancestral Pueblo Peoples or Anasazi (a Navajo word meaning “ancient ones” or “ancient enemies”) and their disappearance from the Four Corners region of the southwestern United States in the 13th century. Because of the negative connotations of the word Anasazi, the Hopi people use the word Hisatsinom instead. They are known for their intricate cliff dwellings that were left preserved after they mysteriously disappeared. Silent Canyons seeks to follow this evolution of a civilization being built in these previously uninhabited caves, the conflicts that arose with other peoples, the disappearance of the people, and returning to the emptiness of the canyons. 

World Premiere
Fort Lewis College Percussion Ensemble
Dr. Jonathan Latta, director